CUT US SOME SLACK

Growing up in a Nigerian society, on the Island and going to a good school, having amazing parents, financially comfortable and all, may all seem like wow! She has everything.  Well yes, some people might say that at first, but then at a second glance it is not all that, when you have a sickness that you are constantly tagged with. I am SC genotype, you might be wondering SC? Is there anything like an SC genotype? Well yeah and it is what I have.

So let me shed more light on my genotype, since I have noticed many people actually are not aware of it, and it is really not taught in biology classes, so basically, SC variant is when one gene is mutated to the S form (as mentioned above) and the other is mutated to the C variant, which is also abnormal. Again, people with just one hemoglobin C mutation usually do not experience any medical issues from it. Even if both hemoglobin genes are mutated to the C form, usually only mild anemia results. For people with one S and one C mutation, called sickle cell-hemoglobin C, they have less episodes of their blood cells clumping together than do people with SS, so they have less pain crises. However, they also have more significant degeneration of bone, retinopathy (degradation of the retina), and increased risk of experiencing priapism. Again, it is important for you to see your doctor if you suspect that you have either of these conditions, in order to be appropriately tested for them and treated if necessary.

Well yeah, it is not as bad as the sickle cell anemia, but just having that genotype tagged to your name is. As a teenager in secondary school, life was not easy for me, most people where ignorant of my genotype and when they didn’t understand, they automatically termed me as a sicker which I am not, and because of this, I had to be given ‘special preference’, special preference is good in times of trouble and maybe other times but I DID NOT LIKE IT AT ALL. I am not a sickler and I actually do not get sick regularly, yes I have body aches and joint pains at times, but I never actually had a crisis. I am not trying to discriminate or insult sickle cell anemia patients, the SS and SC genotypes are similar and SS patients actually face a lot and I am so sympathetic because I can actually understand them, but I am just trying to make a point known that I am not that fragile, and I can actually do most things healthy teenage girls do.

I used to get special preferences a lot, and a kind of exclusion from normal activities in school, which I could actually do. For instance, I was not allowed to participate in sports, even sports like just golf or tennis in school, and I was actually good at those sports. My teachers never allowed me, even though I explained time and time again. I was practically termed as feeble and inability to do anything apart from my academics, and it was really depressing.

People need to be educated both on the SS and SC genotype and not only the SS, there is no awareness made for SC genotypes. A lot of effort has been put into awareness but still ignorance prevails, Sickle cell Anemia patients actually have a life, they can do stuff, some are so active and unless the occasional crisis, you might not have an idea. If some sickle cell anemia patients can do this, how much more SC patients, who are more active and do not usually have crisis. This genotype (SC) also needs to be brought to light, people need to know the difference, people need to understand and enlightened. We should not be rejected some certain jobs; just because generalizations were made, an SC person can do so much more than people are limiting us to, we actually have an advantage and we can do much more than a SS patient. So please cut us some slack, cut both the SS and SC genotypes some slack.

-Avoseh Sesi Mogbekeloluwa

 

Leave a comment